Gallagher Grand Prix Fast Facts

Race weekend: Friday, July 29 – Saturday, July 30

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, a 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course (clockwise)

Race distance: NTT INDYCAR SERIES 85 laps / 207.3 miles

Push-to-pass parameters: 200 seconds of total time, with a maximum time of 20 seconds per activation.

Firestone tire allotment: Five sets primary, four sets alternate (Note: A sixth set of primary tires is available to any car fielding a rookie driver.)

Twitter: @IMS @INDYCAR, #GallagherGP, #IndyCar

Event website:


2021 race winner: Will Power (No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet)

2021 NTT P1 Award winner: Pato O’Ward (No. 5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet), 1:10.7114, 124.167 mph

Qualifying lap record: Will Power, 1:07.7044, 129.687 mph, May 12, 2017 (Set in Round 3 of knockout qualifying)

NBC Sports race telecast: Noon ET Saturday, July 30, NBC (live). Leigh Diffey is the play-by-play announcer for NBC’s coverage of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, alongside analysts Townsend Bell and James Hinchcliffe.

Peacock Premium Live Streaming: All NTT INDYCAR SERIES practice sessions and qualifying will stream live on Peacock Premium, NBC’s direct-to-consumer livestreaming product. and NBC’s Gallagher Grand Prix race telecast will be simulcast on the streaming service, while Peacock Premium’s exclusive post-race show – featuring driver interviews, podium ceremonies and post-race analysis – will be streamed following the race.

INDYCAR Radio Network broadcasts: Mark Jaynes is the anchor alongside analyst Davey Hamilton. Chris Denari, Jake Query, Nick Yeoman and Michael Young are the turn announcers. Ryan Myrehn, Brad Gillie and Brett McMillan are the pit reporters. The Gallagher Grand Prix race (noon ET Saturday) and all NTT INDYCAR SERIES practices and qualifying sessions air live on network affiliates (race only), SiriusXM 160, and the INDYCAR App powered by NTT DATA.

At-track schedule (all times local):

FRIDAY, JULY 29 (All times are local)

9:30-11 a.m.: NTT INDYCAR SERIES practice (90 minutes), Peacock Premium

1 p.m.: Qualifying for the NTT P1 Award (three rounds of NTT INDYCAR SERIES knockout qualifications), Peacock Premium



8:15-8:45 a.m.: NTT INDYCAR SERIES warmup, Peacock Premium

Noon:NBC on air

12:23 p.m.: “Drivers, start your engines”

12:30 p.m.: Gallagher Grand Prix (85 laps/207.3 miles), NBC (Live)

NTT INDYCAR SERIES Championship facts:

  • Marcus Ericsson leads the NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship with five races to go for the first time in his INDYCAR SERIES career. Ericsson, who took the points lead at Road America in June, has led the point standings after six of the 12 races this season.
  • Since the first INDYCAR SERIES race on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course, the winning driver has won the INDYCAR SERIES championship twice: Simon Pagenaud in 2016 and Scott Dixon (2020-Race 1).

Key championship point statistic: Since 2008, the championship leader with five races to go has gone on to win the championship eight times. Those drivers were: Scott Dixon (2008, 2018 and 2020), Dario Franchitti (2011), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2012), Simon Pagenaud (2016), Josef Newgarden (2019) and Alex Palou (2021).

Point differential: The eight points that separate Marcus Ericsson and Will Power is tied — with the 2009 season – for the second-closest point margin with five races remaining since INDYCAR SERIES racing was unified in 2008. Before this season, the average lead with five races to go since 2008 was 43.7 points.


YearLeaderSecond-PlaceLeadEventual Champion(Deficit- if any)
2008Scott DixonHelio Castroneves58Scott Dixon
2009Ryan BriscoeScott Dixon8Dario Franchitti (-11)
2010Will PowerDario Franchitti41Dario Franchitti
2011Dario FranchittiWill Power62Dario Franchitti
2012Ryan Hunter-ReayWill Power34Ryan Hunter-Reay
2013Helio CastronevesScott Dixon31Scott Dixon
2014Helio CastronevesWill Power28Will Power
2015Juan Pablo MontoyaWill Power46Scott Dixon (-49)
2016Simon PagenaudJosef Newgarden73Simon Pagenaud
2017Scott DixonHelio Castroneves3Josef Newgarden (-23)
2018Scott DixonJosef Newgarden62Scott Dixon
2019Josef NewgardenAlexander Rossi29Josef Newgarden
2020Scott DixonJosef Newgarden96Scott Dixon
2021Alex PalouScott Dixon42Alex Palou
2022Marcus EricssonWill Power8???


  • The Gallagher Grand Prix will be the 13th INDYCAR SERIES event conducted on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course. Active race winners who are expected to compete are: Colton Herta, Rinus VeeKayScott DixonJosef NewgardenSimon Pagenaud and Will Power.
Will Power52015, 2017, 2018 (GMR Grand Prix); 2020 (Harvest Grand Prix-2); 2021 (Gallagher Grand Prix)
Simon Pagenaud32014, 2016, 2019 (GMR Grand Prix)
Scott Dixon12020 (GMR Grand Prix)
Josef Newgarden12020 (Harvest Grand Prix-1)
Rinus VeeKay12021 (GMR Grand Prix)
Colton Herta12022 (GMR Grand Prix)
  • Five NTT P1 Award winners have won on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course from the pole: Will Power won the 2015, 2017 and 2018 GMR Grand Prix and second Harvest GP race in 2020 from pole. Simon Pagenaud also won the GMR Grand Prix from pole in 2016.
Will Power52015, 2017, 2018, 2020 (GMR Grand Prix and Harvest Grand Prix-2)
Pato O’Ward12021 (Gallagher Grand Prix)
Romain Grosjean12021 (GMR Grand Prix)
Rinus VeeKay12020 (Harvest Grand Prix-1)
Felix Rosenqvist12019
Simon Pagenaud12016
Sebastian Saavedra12014
  • Six drivers have competed in every INDYCAR SERIES race on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course – Scott DixonJosef NewgardenSimon PagenaudWill PowerGraham Rahal and Takuma Sato. All are entered this year.
  • Team Penske has eight wins on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course (2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020-Race 2, 2020-Race 3, 2021-Race 2). Andretti Autosport, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chip Ganassi Racing and Arrow McLaren SP are the only other teams to win at the track. Andretti Autosport won the GMR Grand Prix with Colton Herta in May, while Ed Carpenter Racing won in 2021-Race 1 with Rinus VeeKay. Chip Ganassi Racing won with Scott Dixon in 2020-Race 1, and Arrow McLaren SP won the inaugural race in 2014 with Simon Pagenaud when it was known as Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.
  • Five NTT INDYCAR SERIES Rookie of the Year contenders – Devlin DeFrancescoCallum IlottKyle KirkwoodChristian Lundgaard and David Malukas – are entered. All five raced in the GMR Grand Prix in May.
  • Milestones: Helio Castroneves will attempt to make his 370th INDYCAR SERIES start, which would break a tie with A. J. Foyt and give him sole possession of third on the INDYCAR SERIES all-time starts list … Scott Dixon will attempt to make his 301st consecutive start, the second-longest streak in INDYCAR SERIES history … With his next win, Dixon will break a tie with Mario Andretti and take sole possession of second on the INDYCAR SERIES all-time victory list with 53 wins … With his next pole position, Will Power will tie Mario Andretti for the INDYCAR SERIES record for most career poles with 67 … With his next win, Power will tie Michael Andretti for fourth on the INDYCAR SERIES all-time victory list.