Six former winners headline 100th Indianapolis 500 entry list

Six former winners headline 100th Indianapolis 500 entry list

INDIANAPOLIS (Monday, May 16, 2016) – Six drivers whose images are immortalized on the famed Borg-Warner Trophy for winning the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing” are among those named to entries filed for the historic 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race Presented by PennGrade Motor Oil on May 29.

Thirty-three drivers have been named for the 33 entered cars at the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval. Honda will provide 17 entries with engines and aerodynamic bodywork kits for the race, while Chevrolet will provide 16 entries with aero kits and engines.

CLICK HERE: Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil entry list

Former Indianapolis 500 champions entered include a pair of multiple winners in Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002 and 2009) and Juan Pablo Montoya (2000 and 2015) of Team Penske. Other past Indy 500 winners entered are: Buddy Lazier (1996) of Lazier/Burns Racing, Scott Dixon (2008) and Tony Kanaan (2013) of Chip Ganassi Racing Teams and Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014) of Andretti Autosport.

Castroneves will try to join one of the most exclusive clubs in worldwide motorsports – four-time winners of the Indianapolis 500. Castroneves is attempting to become the fourth four-time winner of the race, joining A.J. Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977), Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987) and Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991).

In all, 19 drivers entered have won at least one race in Indy car competition, including Verizon IndyCar Series points leader Simon Pagenaud, winner of Saturday‘s Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the IMS road course. Seven entered drivers have won Indy car season championships.

“This year’s Indy 500 field contains all of the ingredients and storylines of a legendary race and sets the stage for this historic 100th running,” said Indianapolis Motor Speedway President J. Douglas Boles. “I know IMS fans are looking forward to every minute of practice and qualification action as the stars of the Verizon IndyCar Series compete to drink milk on May 29.”

Indy car season champions entered in the race include four-time Verizon IndyCar Series champion Dixon (2003, 2008, 2013 and 2015), four-time Champ Car champion Sebastien Bourdais (2004-2007), Montoya (CART 1999) and Verizon IndyCar Series title winners Lazier (2000), Kanaan (2004), Hunter-Reay (2012) and Will Power (2014).

Five rookies with diverse credentials are also assigned to cars, including reigning Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires champion Spencer Pigot, former Formula One driver Alexander Rossi and Mazda Road to Indy graduates Stefan Wilson, Matt Brabham and Max Chilton.

Rookie orientation and veteran refresher programs start on-track action from noon-2 p.m. ET today, followed by practice open to all cars from 2-6 p.m. Practice continues through Friday, with qualifications to set the 33-car field scheduled for May 21-22 and another practice May 23. Miller Lite Carb Day, which includes the final one-hour practice before the race, is set for May 27. The epic 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 29 airs on ABC and the Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network (11 a.m. ET).