San Francisco’s Nob Hill Masonic Center to Host INDYCAR Championship Celebration

San Francisco’s Nob Hill Masonic Center to Host INDYCAR Championship Celebration

INDIANAPOLIS (July 9, 2015) – Fans are invited to mingle with the stars of the Verizon IndyCar Series during the 2015 INDYCAR Championship Celebration on Monday, Aug. 31 at the historic Nob Hill Masonic Center in downtown San Francisco.

The Championship Celebration will take place the day after the title-deciding GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma at Sonoma Raceway, and culminate with the presentation of the Astor Cup and $1 million bonus to the Verizon IndyCar Series championship-winning team and driver.

With five events remaining in the 16-race season, Juan Pablo Montoya of Team Penske leads the chase for the 2015 championship – as he has done since winning the season opener in March. Montoya currently holds a 46-point advantage over teammate and reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power. Three-time champion Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing Teams is third in the point standings, ahead of Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) and Helio Castroneves (Team Penske).

Other award winners also will be recognized during the Championship Celebration program at Nob Hill, the multimedia entertainment venue that will host artists such as Meghan Trainor, Third Eye Blind and Rise Against in coming weeks.

A limited number of Championship Celebration tickets is available for purchase by the public by calling the Indianapolis Motor Speedway ticket office at (800) 822-4639. Catering is included in the $100 per ticket price and fans attending must be at least 21 years of age. Doors open at 4:30 p.m. PT and the show starts at 6:30 p.m.

A California venue will host the Championship Celebration for the fourth time since 2005, when the Verizon IndyCar Series champion and award winners were honored at the Paramount Theatre in Hollywood. In 2013, the Globe Theatre at Universal Studios Hollywood hosted the event after the season-ending race at Auto Club Speedway. In 2014, Club Nokia in downtown Los Angeles hosted the event.

Other recent Championship Celebrations have been held at venues including the Murat Theatre in Indianapolis (2000), Speedway Club in Fort Worth, Texas (2001), House of Blues in Chicago (2002), Walt Disney World’s Epcot (2003), Indianapolis Motor Speedway (2006, 2007 and 2012), The Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas (2008) and W South Beach in Miami (2009 and 2010). The 2004 Championship Celebration was held aboard the cruise ship Disney Wonder.