Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying Report

Verizon IndyCar Series Qualifying Report

Track:  Long Beach, Calif. (1.97, 11-turn temporary street circuit)
Race:   Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach
Date:   April 18, 2015

No. 1 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Will Power

Position:        18th
Time:              1:08.8348
Speed:            102.925 mph

No. 2 Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet – Juan Pablo Montoya

Position:        2nd
Time:              1:06.6587
Speed:            105.518 mph

No. 3 Automobile Club of Southern California Dallara/Chevrolet – Helio Castroneves

Position:        Pole
Time:              1:06.6294
Speed:            106.331 mph

No. 22 Penske Truck Rental Dallara/Chevrolet – Simon Pagenaud

Position:        Fifth
Time:              1:07.1433
Speed:            105.518 mph

Pole Winning Time:        1:06.6294 seconds (No. 3 – Helio Castroneves)

Recap: Helio Castroneves set a new Verizon IndyCar Series track record on Saturday with a lap of 1:06.6294 to win the Verizon P1 Pole Award for the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach. It marked the 42nd pole position won by Castroneves in his IndyCar career. Team Penske took three of the top five starting positions, including the front row of Castroneves and Juan Pablo Montoya. Simon Pagenaud will start fifth on Sunday. Will Power was caught out when Stefano Coletti crashed during the second round of the first qualifying session, bringing out a caution flag and preventing Power from posting a fast time. Team Penske has won four of the last six pole positions at Long Beach: three in a row by Power (2009-2011) and Ryan Briscoe in 2012. Power, who will start 18th on Sunday, won the race in 2008 and 2012, and finished second last year. Montoya, who finished fourth at Long Beach last year, also posted his first IndyCar win at the historic street circuit in 1999.

Coverage:  The Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach will air live on Sunday afternoon, April 19 at 4:00 p.m. ET on the NBC Sports Network. The race will also be broadcast live on the IMS Radio Network, XM Channel 209 and Sirius Channel 213.