Mazda Road To Indy update #1 – USF2000 and Pro Mazda Practice

Unfortunately Cooper Tires USF2000 powered by Mazda driver Andrew List and his D2D Motorsports team won’t be taking part in the event this weekend. He had a disagreement with some ARMCO during the first test session yesterday. List has some bruises but is otherwise OK. The car was not so lucky. It will need more repairs then they are able to accomplish at the track.


List’s withdrawal leaves 16 entries for the two races at NOLA Motorsports Park.  The USF2000 field was the first to take to a damp 2.74 mile, 13 Turn road course promptly at 8:20am.

Halfway through the session, a dry line began to appear and times started to drop, but the track was still slick for most of the session.  The Cape Motorsports with /WTR duo of Aaron Telitz and Nico Jamin didn’t risk going out until that line began to appear.

There was one red flag in a session that saw most drivers complete between 12 and 14 laps.  The top five times were turned by Jake Eidson, Victor Franzoni, Jordan Lloyd, Nico Jamin and Aaron Telitz.

Here are the complete times for the first session:

1 Jake Eidson 1:40.797
2 Victor Franzoni 1:41.018
3 Jordan Lloyd 1:41.558
4 Nico Jamin 1:41.925
5 Aaron Telitz 1:42.024
6 Anthony Martin 1:42.050
7 Luke Gabin 1:42.277
8 Garth Rickards 1:42.964
9 Yufeng Luo 1:43.047
10 Parker Thompson 1:43.070
11 Nikita Lastochkin 1:43.968
12 Ayla Agren 1:44.253
13 Keyvan Andres Soori 1:44.376
14 Max Hanratty 1:45.178
15 Augie Lerch 1:45.261
16 James Dayson 1:47.721


The 16 Pro Mazda presented by Cooper Tire entries were the next to hit the track.  The track continued to dry during the Pro Mazda session and lap times were within a half a second of yesterdays times on a dry track.

The session was green for the entire thirty minutes.

Weiron Tan, Timte Buret, Will Owen, Santiago Urrutia and Dalton Kellett were the top 5.

Championship leader, Neil Alberico, who struggled in testing yesterday, didn’t fair much better today, clocking only the 13th quickest time.

Here are the complete times for the first session:

1 Weiron Tan 1:34.948
2 Timothe Buret 1:35.062
3 Will Owen 1:35.174
4 Santiago Urrutia 1:35.257
5 Dalton Kellett 1:35.321
6 Raoul Owens 1:35.425
7 Florian Latorre 1:35.478
8 Pato O’Ward 1:35.601
9 Kyle Connery 1:35.654
10 Alessandro Latif 1:35.739
11 Garett Grist 1:35.750
12 Neil Alberico 1:36.004
13 Jose Gutierrez 1:36.087
14 Daniel Burkett 1:36.875
15 Bobby Eberle(E) 1:38.851
16 Parker Nicklin No Time