BROWNSBURG, Ind. (March 10, 2015) – Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (RLL) announced today that D-A Lubricant Co., a privately owned heavy duty, and industrial lubricant compounder/blender, will be the primary sponsor of the No. 15 Indy car driven by Graham Rahal at the inaugural Indy Grand Prix of Louisiana April 10-12 at NOLA Motorsports Park.  In addition, D-A Lubricant Co. has joined the team as a multi-year, major associate sponsor of the entry.

This partnership marks a return to Indy car racing for D-A Lubricant Co., based in Lebanon, IN, who sponsored entries in the Indianapolis 500 from 1955 – 1958 with a highest finish of sixth in “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” in 1956with driver Bob Sweikert. D-A-sponsored cars also ran in the USAC Championship Car series during that time period, earning one win in 1957 and four wins in 1958.

In addition, the relationship provides a business-to-business opportunity with the LANCO Group of Companies, whose president is RLL co-owner Michael Lanigan.  D-A Lubricant Co. will provide additional technical support to the team in ‘development’ of performance lubricants that will be used on the race car.




“I am happy to welcome D-A Lubricant Co. to the team,” said Michael Lanigan, co-owner of RLL with 1986 Indy 500 winner and three-time Indy car champion Bobby Rahal and CBS Late Show host David Letterman. “I also look forward to using their products in all of our heavy equipment and to promote their vast selection of oils, lubricants and other products in the industries the LANCO Group of Companies are involved in.”

“I am incredibly pleased to bring D-A Lubricant Co. back to IndyCar and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway after a 50-year absence through our partnership with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing,” added Mike Protogere, Chairman/CEO of D-A Lubricant Co.  “This is a prime example of a business to business relationship that will allow us to immediately identify and open new business channels, and get our name in front of IndyCar audiences in markets throughout North America. RLL is comprised of talented individuals, and I can’t wait to see them perform this season carrying the D-A Lubricant Co. name.”

“We are obviously thrilled to welcome D-A Lubricant Co. into our team,” said RLL co-owner Bobby Rahal. “Those who are familiar with the history of Indy car racing know that D-A’s involvement goes back to the 1950’s.  I certainly remember their car with its distinctive livery so it’s wonderful to be able to welcome them back to Indy car racing. In meeting with them, I was so impressed with how they go about their business. Their expertise in the lubricants area will help us get a technical advantage and we look forward to working closely with them during this process. We’re excited to have them on board.”

The 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series season begins on March 29 with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg and will be televised live on ABC at 3:00 p.m. ET.

About D-A Lubricant Co.

D-A Lubricant Co., is a privately owned heavy duty, and industrial lubricant compounder/blender. The company offers a broad line of products and services to U.S. and international end-users, select distributors and Original Equipment Manufacturing (OEM). D-A also provides technical assistance, proprietary tribology formulation and fluid testing capabilities. D-A Lubricant Co. was founded in 1919 and has its world headquarters in Lebanon, Indiana with additional distribution strategically located throughout the continental United States as well as an international presence.

More information about D-A Lubricant Co. can be found at www.dalube.com .

About Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, based in Hilliard, Ohio and Brownsburg, Ind., is co-owned by three-time IndyCar Champion and 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, CBS LATE SHOW host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan.  In 2015 the team will compete in their 24th year of open wheel competition and attempt to add to their 20 wins – including the 2004 Indy 500 from pole with Buddy Rice — their 29 poles, 81 podium finishes and 1992 series championship.  The team also competed in the American Le Mans Series from 2009-2013 as BMW Team RLL where they won both the Manufacturer and Team Championships in the GT category in 2010 and swept all three GT titles in 2011 – Manufacturer, Team and Driver. In 2012, the team finished second in the Team Championship and third in the Manufacturer Championship and in 2013, the team finished second in the Driver, Team and Manufacturer Championship. In 2014, BMW Team RLL competed in the GTLM class of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship with a two-car program and earned six podium finishes including four second-place finishes. In 2015, the team opened the season by scoring their 50th podium finish of second place at the Rolex 24 at Daytona and will attempt to add to their 10 wins.