Harvey, Pigot and Jones Embroiled in Three-Way Indy Lights Title Fight

By the Numbers Entering Mid-Ohio:

Current Points: Harvey (278), Pigot (260), Jones (258), Enerson (214), Serralles (176)
Number of Race Winners: 6
Race Wins: Pigot (4), Jones (3), Harvey (2), Rayhall (1), Serralles (1), Chilton (1)
Number of Podium Finishers: 11
Podiums: Harvey (8), Pigot (7), Jones (6), Enerson (4), Chilton (3), Serralles (2), Rayhall (2), Ringel (1), Anderson (1), Kaiser (1), Piedrahita (1)
Poles: Pigot (4), Jones (3), Harvey (2), Ringel (1), Piquet Jr (1, Chilton (1)

A pair of Englishmen, Jack Harvey and Ed Jones, and an American, Spencer Pigot, are separated by only 20 points with just four races left in the 16-round Indy Lights campaign. At stake is a scholarship which will include a guaranteed entry in three Verizon IndyCar Series races in 2016, including the historic 100th Indianapolis 500.

Harvey, 22, from Lincoln, England, currently holds an 18-point advantage over Pigot following an impressively consistent campaign with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with Curb-Agajanian, which is in search of a record-extending eighth Indy Lights championship. Harvey, who only lost the title on a count-back to second-place finishes following an impressive rookie season in 2014, has won twice this year and has failed to finish among the top five only once. He also enjoyed a dominant weekend last year at Mid-Ohio, winning both races.

Pigot, 21, from Orlando, Fla., has won more races this year than anyone else, four, for Juncos Racing and is aiming for a second successive scholarship after winning the 2014 Pro Mazda championship. Pigot also has won previously at Mid-Ohio in USF2000 competition.

Jones, 20, who was raised in Dubai, part of the United Arab Emirates, began the season on a tear, winning the first three races with the Carlin team which was also making its North American debut after amassing tremendous success in European open-wheel racing. His early points lead was eroded by a couple of disappointing results, but Jones bounced back to prominence with a fine second-place finish – behind Carlin teammate and ex-Formula 1 driver Max Chilton – in the most recent race at the Iowa Speedway oval.

RC Enerson, from New Port Richey, Fla., also has a mathematical shot at the championship. Enerson is the youngest driver in the field at just 18, having stepped up directly from USF2000, but has proved to be a quick learner, earning four podium finishes already for the Schmidt Peterson team. Enerson has claimed three USF2000 race wins at Mid-Ohio over the past two years.

Chilton and Felix Serralles (Belardi Auto Racing) have added their names to the winners’ roster in the two most recent races, while Sean Rayhall, from Winston, Ga., will return to the series this weekend with 8Star Motorsports, keen to add to his sensational victory on the Indianapolis Grand Prix circuit in May.

The Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio Powered by Mazda weekend will commence with a pair of 30-minute practice sessions on Friday, July 31, at 8:40 AM and 1:00 PM. Qualifying will take place at 8:00 AM on Saturday, August 1, followed by a 40-minute “sprint” race at 1:55 PM. The green flag for Sunday’s 60-minute “feature” event will fly at 10:30 AM. All times are EDT.

Live streaming of all sessions will be available at racecontrol.indycar.com with timing and commentary available on the new Mazda Road to Indy App and at indylights.com in addition to full coverage on the IMS Radio Network to Sirius XM Satellite Radio, indycar.com, indycarradio.com and the INDYCAR App from Verizon. The race will air on NBCSN at 1:00 AM EDT on Thursday, August 6. Behind-the-scenes coverage can be found at RoadToIndy.TV.

Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio Powered by Mazda
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course – Lexington, Ohio – July 31-August 3, 2015
2.258-mile, 13-turn road course

Entry List
As of July 7, 2015

Track Records:
Qualifying – Martin Plowman 1:12.8624 = 111.564 mph August 8, 2010
Race – Richard Antinucci 1:13.2998 = 110.898 mph July 22, 2007

No. Driver Hometown Residence Team Entry
1. 4 Felix Serralles (R) Ponce, Puerto Rico Atlanta, GA Belardi Auto Racing S&S Tire
2. 5 Juan Piedrahita Bogota, Colombia Indianapolis, IN Belardi Auto Racing Petrosur/Marca Colombia/Coldeportes/FCAD
3. 7 RC Enerson (R) New Port Richey, FL New Port Richey, FL Schmidt Peterson Motorsports w/Curb-Agajanian Lucas Oil/Curb Records
4. 8 Sean Rayhall (R) Winston, GA Atlanta, GA 8Star Motorsports Bass Egg and Edvisors
5. 11 Ed Jones (R) Dubai, UAE Dubai, UAE Carlin Toys for Boys Miami/United Rivers
6. 12 Spencer Pigot (R) Orlando, FL Indianapolis, IN Juncos Racing Mazda/Doug Mockett & Company/Rising Star Racing/The Stutz/BAD/OMP
7. 14 Max Chilton (R) Reigate, Surrey, England Reigate, Surrey, England Carlin BlippAR
8. 18 Kyle Kaiser (R) Santa Clara, CA Santa Clara, CA Juncos Racing InterVision/NetApp/Juniper Networks
9. 42 Jack Harvey Lincoln, England Lincoln, England Schmidt Peterson Motorsports w/Curb-Agajanian Racing Steps Foundation/Curb Records
10. 51 Shelby Blackstock (R) Nashville, TN Cornelius, NC Andretti Autosport Starstruck
11. 71 Ethan Ringel (R) Mineola, NY Orlando, FL Schmidt Peterson Motorsports w/Curb-Agajanian FamilyArtPrinting.com
12. 77 Scott Anderson Fort Collins, CO Fort Collins, CO Schmidt Peterson Motorsports w/Curb-Agajanian Anderson Podiatry Centers/Laser Therapy, Surgery and Neuropathy/Curb Records