FIRESTONE FIREHAWK FAST FACTS - IZOD IndyCar Series – Iowa Corn Indy 250

Story posted - Jun 20 2013 6:20 PM

IZOD IndyCar Series – Iowa Corn Indy 250
Iowa Speedway – Newton, Iowa
June 22-23, 2013 – Round 10 of 19

Race Distance: 223.5 miles/359.75 km (250 laps on the 0.894-mile/1.439-km short oval).
Broadcast: Live – Sunday, June 23, at 2:30 p.m. ET on ABC, IMS Radio Network, Sirius/XM Channel 211 and

Firestone Firehawk Race Tires Supplied:
· The Iowa tire specification features the same left-side tires used at the track in 2012, combined with the same right-side tires run three weeks ago at Texas. Because of the higher constant speeds and loading placed on the cars, a more durable superspeedway tire specification is necessary. A total of 1,128 tires are available.

· Each entry receives 10 sets (40 total tires) for the race weekend. Rookie drivers and those outside the top 10 in points receive an 11th set to be used in the first practice session only. The four drivers who advance from the first two qualifying heat races into the final heat race may exchange the set run in the last heat for a new set for the main race.

· Tire stagger: A single stagger of approximately 0.45 of an inch is available for all teams. Stagger is created by molding the right rear tire with a larger diameter than the left rear and helps racecars turn more naturally and smoothly on oval tracks.

Firestone Racing/Iowa Speedway Facts:
· Four former Iowa Speedway race winners are in the field this weekend – Dario Franchitti (2007 and 2009), Tony Kanaan (2010), Marco Andretti (2011) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (2012). Three times, the Iowa race winner has gone on to collect the season championship – Franchitti in '07 and '09, and Hunter-Reay last year.
· The Iowa race has been contested on June 23 twice before (2007 and 2012).
· Two other notable Firestone race wins took place on June 23. Jimmy Bryanwon on Detroit's dirt oval on June 23, 1957, on his way to a second straight national championship. Alex Zanardiwon at Portland International Raceway on June 23, 1996, the first of his 15 race victories in Championship Auto Racing Teams competition that included two season titles.

If you were a TSO subscriber - you could comment on this article and tell us what YOU think.


Honda IndyCar Iowa Talking Points << Home Page >> Helio Castroneves and Will Power Finish One-Two in Pole-Qualifying Heat Race at Iowa Speedway