Recipients of Central Indiana’s ‘Meals on Wheels’ program received their food a little bit ‘faster’ than usual today thanks to PIRTEK Team Murray’s rookie IndyCar driver, Matt Brabham.

The 22 year-old, who will have his first official practice session for a Verizon IndyCar Series race tomorrow, joined Angie’s List volunteers on their regular meal drop. Angie’s List is the major sponsor of the annual 82-lap Grand Prix on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Brabham personally delivered a meal to homebound recipient, ‘Shorty,’ who is also an enthusiastic race fan.

The 22-year-old will drive the #61 PIRTEK Team Murray Chevrolet in this weekend’s Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis and is then set to become just the third third-generation driver to compete in the Indianapolis 500 on May 29, following in the footsteps of three-time F1 world champion grandfather, Sir Jack Brabham, and his father Geoff, who drove in 10 Indy 500s.

“The Indy 500 celebrates an amazing milestone with its 100th running this month and Meals On Wheels celebrates its 45th year of serving the community,” said Brabham.

“It is great to be involved in activities like these and get an understanding of just how important services like Meals on Wheels are to so many people.

“Volunteers are the unsung heroes of communities worldwide and it always great to see large corporations like Angie’s List working with their own staff to facilitate volunteer efforts like Meals on Wheels.

“‘Shorty’ appreciated us turning up with his meal today and he is a real racing fan who had plenty to talk about.

“We have also given him a couple of tickets for this weekend’s race and hopefully we have the chance to give him a look around.”

Volunteer Development Director for Meals on Wheels Central Indiana, Barb Renshaw, was delighted to have Brabham as part of her program today.

“We could not have asked for a better tie in today with Angie’s List sponsoring the Grand Prix this weekend that Matt will be a part of, and delivering meals and bringing awareness to our program that we have here in Indianapolis,” said Renshaw.

“We deliver meals in the greater Indianapolis area using volunteers primarily and we deliver to 550 local homebound men and women. They are primarily elderly and we have some disabled. Mainly they are people who cannot get out easily to the store therefore they are not eating healthy before they get on our program.

“We bring them medically-tailored meals that are prescribed by their doctor and we can accommodate any type of diet that will improve their health.

“Matt has done a great job today and is such a terrific young man, if he is doing nothing in the off season we would love to have him as full-time driver for us.

“”Shorty’ is a regular client on the route where Angie’s List delivers. We use a lot of corporate volunteers and Angie’s List is one of 92 companies that we use to deliver meals.

“Shorty’ was thrilled to have his meal delivered by Matt today.”

First practice for the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis will be on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course at 11am local time.

SCHEDULE – ANGIE’S LIST GRAND PRIX OF INDIANAPOLIS
(US TIME ET & AUSTRALIAN EASTERN – following day for Australia)

Thursday, May 12
11:00am-12:15pm (ET) | 1:00am-2:15am (AEST) – Practice 1
1:00pm-2:00pm (ET) | 3:00am-4:00am (AEST) – Practice 2
Livestream: http://racecontrol.indycar.com

Friday, May 13
11:00am-11:45am (ET) | 1:00am-1:45am (AEST) – Practice 3
1:00pm-2:00pm (ET) – Autograph Session – IndyCar Fan Village
3:00pm-4:15pm (ET) | 5:00am-6:15am (AEST) – Qualifying
Livestream: http://racecontrol.indycar.com

Saturday, May 14
11:30am-12:00pm (ET) | 1:30am-2:00am – Warmup
3:00pm (ET) – Driver Introductions
3:45pm (ET) | 5:45am (AEST) – Gentlemen, Start your Engines
3:50pm (ET) | 5:50am (AEST) – Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis (82 Laps)

Race Television Times:
ABC (US) 3:30pm (ET)
Fox Sports 501 (AU) 5:30am Sunday (AEST)

IndyCar Radio – SiriusXM – Sirius: 212; XM: 209

Course: Indianapolis Road Course
Length: 2.439 miles (3.925 km)
Turns: 14 – 9 right, 5 left, clockwise direction

Practice for the 100th Indianapolis 500 begins on Monday, May 16.